ALLEGHENY COUNTY HEALTH PROGRAM AIR POLLUTION CONTROL ADVISORY COMMITTEE

Community College of Allegheny County - Allegheny Campus K. Leroy Irvis Science Center, Room 302 808 Ridge Ave, Pittsburgh, PA 15212 Meeting No. 05-24

August 29, 2024 - 5:30 p.m.

Committee Members Present

Dan Bricmont (Chair), Bricmont Law Chip Babst (Vice Chair), Babst Calland (TEAMS) Anna Batista, High Street Consulting (TEAMS) Steven Hvozdovich, Clean Water Action (TEAMS) Mark Jeffrey, U. S. Steel Robert Orchowski, Hillcrest Group

Committee Members Not Present

Sara Marie Baldi, Salvation Army Mary Ann Bucci, Port of Pittsburgh Jeanne Clark, ALCOSAN Courtney Mahronich Vita, Friends of the Riverfront John Palmiere, Vice President, Allegheny County Council Anna Siefken, U.S. DOE

ACHD Staff Present

Geoff Rabinowitz, DPA, Deputy Director, EH Bureau Jason Willis, Attorney Jason Maranche, AQ Program Manager Ian Anderson, EH Administrator Brendan Turley, Attorney Tom Lattner, AQ Engineer (TEAMS) Karen M Sagel, Senior Secretary (TEAMS)

Participants Present

Lee Ann Briggs, SBAC/EMAP (TEAMS) Coleen Davis, CBG Consulting (TEAMS) Matt Delibero, U. S. Steel (TEAMS) Mike Dzurinko, U. S. Steel (TEAMS) Amanda Gillooly, GASP (TEAMS) David Hacker, U. S. Steel (TEAMS) Chris Harden, U. S. Steel (TEAMS) Stephen Hepler, PA DEP (TEAMS) Brian Joos, Citizen (TEAMS) Lisa Grave-Marcucci, (TEAMS) Environmental Integrity Project Robert Marks, ZeroFossil (TEAMS) Matthew Mehalik, Breathe Project (TEAMS) Howard Rieger, Resident-Led Air Quality Town Hall Sharon Stern, Resident-Led Air Quality Town Hall Brett Tunno, U. S. Steel (TEAMS) Carol Wivell, Citizen (TEAMS) Elana Zaitsoff, Citizen (TEAMS)

1. Welcome and Call to Order

Action: Chair Dan Bricmont called the meeting to order at 5:40 p.m. A quorum was not present no actions were taken.

All in attendance in person and via Microsoft Teams made their introductions.

2. Chair's Remarks

A brief discussion was held regarding how "informational only" is defined since no deliberative actions could take place in absence of a quorum. This issue was brought up several times during the meeting for clarification.

3. Approval of Minutes

a. Approval of Minutes – June 10, 2024

Action: Approval of Minutes was postponed due to the lack of a quorum.

b. Approval of Minutes – July 7, 2024

Action: Approval of Minutes was postponed due to the lack of a quorum.

4. **Regulations in Progress Status** – Tom Lattner

Tom Lattner reviewed the Regulations in Progress Status Table.

5. Action Item: Article XXI Revisions

No action (recommendation vote) was taken due to a lack of a quorum.

6. **Program Update** – Dr. Geoff Rabinowitz

Dr. Geoff Rabinowitz provided an information only update of the status of the public review of the proposed changes to Article XXI and the two Fee Tables, including a brief synopsis of the number of comments. He also described the status of the current Clean Air Fund request for application process. Finally, he stated that the new Director of the Health Department is Dr. Iulia Vann, MD, MPH.

7. Other Business / Citizen Comments

Mark Jeffrey inquired about the process for removal of Air Advisory Committee members who fail to attend meetings. Dr. Rabinowitz will follow up on this issue.

Sharon Stern was concerned about the Health Department having funding to do its job. Since the fee issue is a big part of getting enough funding, is the inability of this committee to get a quorum going to have a detrimental impact on that decision and is it going to hold up the implementation of the new fee structure to fund the Health Department.

Carol Wivell asked how it is not possible to deliberate in this meeting where there is not a quorum, since there was already a discussion at the preceding Regulation Subcommittee meeting. Jason Willis explained the difference between a Committee and a Subcommittee.

Robert Orchowski requested the Sunshine Act be examined again regarding a discussion being allowed without a quorum.

8. Adjournment

Mr. Orchowski motioned to adjourn the meeting, which was seconded by Anna Batista, and the Committee approved to adjourn the meeting at 6:20 p.m.