#### THE ACCOUNTABILITY CONDUCT AND ETHICS COMMISSION OF ALLEGHENY COUNTY

119 Courthouse • 436 Grant Street Pittsburgh, PA 15219 Phone (412) 350-5300 • Fax (412) 350-3581

WILLIAM F. WARD, ESQ. CHAIRMAN

Tonya b. Johnson, esq. Jesse Torisky, esq. Mr. daryl reeves

Honorable Patrick J. Catena, President Allegheny County Council 119 Allegheny County Courthouse 436 Grant Street Pittsburgh, PA 15219

#### ANNUAL REPORT – 2020

Dear President Catena:

Pursuant to Section 105.10 of The Accountability, Conduct and Ethics Code of Allegheny County ("Ethics Code"), this letter provides an Annual Report to County Council.

#### Meetings, Procedures and Website

The calendar year 2020 was the 18th full year of operation for The Accountability, Conduct and Ethics Commission of Allegheny County ("ACE Commission" or "Commission"). During the year, the Commission held four public meetings, with portions of those meetings being conducted in executive session. Due to the restrictions caused by the global pandemic of COVID-19, most of the Commission's meetings in 2020 were conducted virtually.

The Ethics Code, information about the ACE Commission and its Members, and a Complaint Form remain available on the County's website at <a href="http://www.alleghenycounty.us/commissions/accountability/index.aspx">http://www.alleghenycounty.us/commissions/accountability/index.aspx</a>.

To further publicize and educate the public regarding the Commission's existence and purpose, minutes of the Commission's meetings and the Commission's Annual Reports are posted to the County's website. On March 12, 2020, Tonya B. Johnson, Esquire, stepped down as Chairperson of the Commission. The ACE Commission is grateful for Ms. Johnson's talented and dedicated service as Chairperson and her continued service as a Commissioner.

At the Commission's quarterly meeting held on March 12, 2020, William F. Ward, Esquire, was elected as Chairman of the ACE Commission. The Commissioners welcomed its newest Commissioner, Daryl Reeves, who was appointed to the ACE Commission on December 10, 2019.

Theodore Trbovich, Esquire, continues to serve as the Legal Advisor to the ACE Commission. The Commission appreciates the valued assistance of the Department of Human Resources and the appointed Legal Advisor

## Public Disclosure of Interest Statements

The Public Disclosure of Interest Statement ("the Statement") must be filed annually by all elected and appointed "county officers, county officials and public employees," as defined in Section 101.03 of the Ethics Code. We rely upon Department heads and employees themselves to determine whether their positions in County government require that they file the Statement.

## **Complaints Received**

The ACE Commission has received a total of 50 Complaints since its inception. The Commission received only two complaints during 2020:

Complaint #49 was filed on July 15, 2020. After a preliminary inquiry was conducted, the case was dismissed because the Commission did not have jurisdiction over the Respondent.

Complaint #50 was filed on December 14, 2020. The case was dismissed without a preliminary inquiry because the Complainant was anonymous and the complaint was unsworn.

# **Confidentiality**

Confidentiality continues to remain critical to the work of the ACE Commission, thus limiting the amount of information that can be revealed to the County Executive, County Council or to the public.

In order to gain the trust and confidence of Complainants and Respondents, confidentiality is necessary, as required by the Ethics Code. The Commission remains committed to the Confidentiality provisions enacted by County Council.

## **Commission Activities**

The ACE Commission continues to abide by its responsibilities as set forth in the Ethics Code. The Members of the ACE Commission continue to serve on a volunteer basis, and appreciate the opportunity to serve.

Respectfully,

/s/ William F. Ward

William F. Ward, Esq. Chairman, ACE Commission

Tonya B. Johnson, Esq. Jesse Torisky, Esq. Mr. Daryl Reeves

cc: Allegheny County Council Members Hon. Rich Fitzgerald, County Executive Mr. Kenneth Varhola, County Council Chief of Staff